Mercedes W124 - IanK
I bought an Mercedes E220 W124 new in September 2000 from Trade
Sales in Slough. The car had apparently been made in knocked-down form for
the Indian market in 1996. I was surprised that the wipers do not have flick-wipe
facility or the ability to vary the delay time. Is it possible to modify it to get
these facilities, perhaps by fitting a part or parts from another model?

Also, the car does not have a VIN plate or the chassis no. etched on the screen, just a
(partial?) chassis no. stamped direct into the metal in the engine compartment. I have been told that I will have problems when it comes to putting it through the MOT because of the lack of the VIN plate. Has anyone experienced this problem? I know that there was a previous batch of these cars sold by Trade Sales which must be past their due date for the first MOT by now.

Mercedes W124 - mark
Hello Ian I remember these being advertised and was quite keen until I found out more about where they were from and the spec, however as I recall they were very cheap about £13k on the road brand new.

Whats it been like generally?

as ever

Mark
Mercedes W124 - Marc
I saw an X reg W124 E220 the other day and it had me puzzled. Must have been similar to yours.

If it's like the 190E wiper system up to 1993, it doesn't have adjustable intermittancy or flick wipe just three speed settings if I remember rightly.

Again, if similar to the 190E the chassis number should be stamped near the bulkead/fuse box. Also, two plates are located on the front panel above the radiator. One is an MB aluminium plate with paint/trim colour etc, the other is body coloured and stamped with a series of numbers (probably chassis number)

I would also be interested to hear your opinions on fit and finish and reliability of this car
Mercedes W124 - ajit