BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - Lensman

My BMW 3 Series Coupe 2.0Diesel Sport Automatic on a 57 Plate has full main agent BMW service History. It went in for a service and I was informed the engine was noisy. Thankfully the car has the BMW Exttended warranty, the car has covered 47,000 miles. I must give credit to the service centre at BMW Park Lane at Stewarts Road, Battersea, who diagnosed the problem immidiately and who provide an exceptional level of service. That is why I travel from north to south London as I believe they offer the best service in LOndon, I have been driviing BMW's for 30 years. The cost of the repair is upwards of of an eye watering £5,000.00 thankfully I only have to pay £100,00 excess. the work needed was a full removal and strip down of the engine. It needed the following parts to be replaced: Crank Shaft, Bearings, and Timing Chain Assembly and of course re filled the engine with new oil.

BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - coopshere
Excellent advert for BMW reliability!
BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - Collos25

I would have thought it would be much easier and cheaper to fit a short engine.

BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - Lensman
Awful after 30 years just bough a Hyundai! NOT the ULTIMATE driving machine but does have a much better warranty.
BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - injection doc
I would be more concerned at why the serious failure at such low mileage ? Great to have the warranty and great to hear of good service but why did it fail ? Is there a garrentee it won't happen again ?
Did the garage give an explanation of why it failed ?
BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - 659FBE

Is this another manifestation of the infamous N47 engine timing chain failure?

Make yourself a pot of coffee and Google BMW N47 failure. What a stupid piece of design.

BMW 3 Series Coupe - Noisy Diesel Engine - Alf_Hooker

Oh dear,