Renault Clio 1.4RT 1995 4,000rpm?? - JEC
My other halfs little Champs-Elysee makes a right royal racket at 4,000 rpm akin to having your had stuck in a bassoon.
This is no vibration felt through the steering or anything like that.
At 4,000 rpm, there is a loud sound which I could only compare to a major exhaust blow but the exhaust is fine and you can only hear it when inside with the doors closed.
I was thinking that since the manual car is not as pokey as my mum's auto, perhaps I am loosing some compression at that rpm but I am really scratching my head with that one!
Any ideas????
Cheers
Jamie
Renault Clio 1.4RT 1995 4,000rpm?? - Andrew-T
Might it be something like dry bearings on the alternator?
I never thought of that.
Have you had that before. Getting to the alternator on a Renault is a pain let alone dismantling it!
I'm no expert on Clios (tho' I expect to start learning as SWMBO has just got a 2000W one). However my 1993 205 did 40 miles along M62 on Sunday fine, then on the return trip an intermittent noise rather like your description started at 2500-3000 rpm. Nothing through the steering, but a faint vibration in the car, and the noise could be made to come and go with the throttle. The alternator belt seemed tight to me, but I put 3 drops of light oil behind the belt pulley followed by a squirt of WD40. So far no recurrence, but I haven't really pushed it yet.

I suspect that attempting to fix an alternator would probably not get you very far unless you are an auto-electrician. If the alternator is at fault, an exchange one may be simplest.
Thank you Andrew.
I will take a look at the alternator Sunday and do some lubricating. I hope it is something relatively simple.
I have stripped an alternator before and have texts for auto electrics so I'm sure I'll manage.
I'm not convinced that is the problem but it is worth a go!
As it happens the drive belt for the power steering has started to go so I have to get greasy anyway
Ta
Jamie