Silly question about hatchbacks! - cosmicjazzer
I've been looking for a very cheap estate car (under £400!). I'm a musician and need a vehicle I can put all my keyboards in when gigging... Well there are aren't many half decent estates around at this price and the thought struck me that a hatchback could do the job too IF the back seats fold down flat.

I've never owned a hatchback. Wondering if hatchbacks usually have back seats that fold completely flat?
Silly question about hatchbacks! - uksant
I've never owned a hatchback. Wondering if hatchbacks usually have back seats that fold completely flat?

Yes, they do! Good luck.
Silly question about hatchbacks! - Old Navy
Almost all, if not all hatchbacks have folding seats. some do not fold completely flat though.
Silly question about hatchbacks! - gmac
You need to check the specific model you are looking at.
Some hatchbacks have split folding backs to the rear seat but the base is solid meaning, if you want a completely flat load space you can't carry a rear seat passenger as well.
Silly question about hatchbacks! - madf
Autotrader lists 78 estates under £500...

Silly question about hatchbacks! - Bill Payer
Of course if they fold flat then that's because the squab tips forward - like on our SEAT Ibiza.

Downside is that the thickness of the squab then limits the load deck length available, and it also prevents the front seats from being pushed back very far (not a problem unless you're tall).

Silly question about hatchbacks! - KMO
The Toyota Prius' rear seats fold flat without the base tipping forward, because the boot deck is unusually high.

(The battery's under the boot floor behind the rear base cushion, and there's a hidden storage area under the main boot floor, behind the battery).

I've no idea whether that's a net positive or negative - kind of depends on how you're intending to use it, I guess.