Towing problem - mike.D
My jeep cherokee 2.5 TD 2000 got great pulling power when towing. i have a 8metre long caravan twin axle Bailey Ranger. The problem i experience is i seem to get an unsteady feeling when doing upto 60mph the car and caravan appear to rock or bounce which is a bit worrying. This problem is more constant when accelerating or going down hill. The same problem is componded even more when being over taken or through side winds. Sometimes i get the feeling of being on a boat!!!
Towing problem - kithmo
I'm no expert on this but I'd guess that it may be something to do with the short wheelbase of the jeep in relation to the long caravan and/or the way you've loaded the caravan, i.e too nose heavy, too nose light etc.

Edited by kith on 08/02/2010 at 09:53

Towing problem - mike.D
Thanks, picked caravan up from new on Friday so van was empty.
Towing problem - NARU
That caravan is about the maximum that should be towed with that model Jeep (laden caravan about 90% of car kerb weight). But it should tow OK.

Are the tyres at the right pressure - both car and caravan

What noseweight are you running with the caravan? (try to get close to the maximum= =100Kg?)

Is the caravan sitting slightly nose-down or nose-up? (down is better)

Does the caravan have a stabiliser? That might help.

Caravans will always be slightly less stable going downhill.
Towing problem - NARU
PS. A twin axle caravan (I assume this is one) whould be pretty stable.

The towball, when measured from ground to ball centre should be between 350 and 420 mm (vehicle fully laden, but without caravan attached). It can be high on some 4x4s, leading to the caravan towing nose up, so the air pressure from under the car keeps trying to lift the front of the caravan.

Edited by Marlot on 08/02/2010 at 10:12

Towing problem - mike.D