Xantia Activa: how good? - Harmattan
AS a glutton for punishment on any out-of-the-ordinary oldies, I am intrigued by a Xantia Activa at £850 ono in today's free local paper. As there appear to be lots of Xantia enthusiasts on this site, can I ask if the Activa is simply an expensive box of trouble or will a decent service record have kept on top of potential problems? I already run a BX 4x4 estate so the risk of expensive part replacements is already something I live with.

David
Xantia Activa: how good? - Citroënian {P}
Hi David,

Sorry, I'm not a technical expert by any means (I'm sure that nice Mr Woolard will be along shortly!).

But I know that the Xantia VSX goes for less money than the SX because of it's extra electronic gizmos on the suspension. The Activa will take those to new heights of comedy-style main dealer part pricing and so I guess that's what makes the car such a bargain second hand.

IIRC this car has the 2.0 light pressure turbo and having driven it only the once, I'd say the performance is more than enough to get you either extra points on the licence or on first name terms with several local taxi drivers.

How good to drive? Excellent. How easy to live with? Very. How cheap to keep on the road? Roll the dice....

I did once see one parked up in Huddersfield that was level on three out of the four corners, the final one sagging all by itself. Looked very expensive.

Lee.

Xantia Activa: how good? - M.M
David,

Yes this is something of the normal Citroen gamble but magnified several times over.

A quick judgement.......if the system works now how can you go wrong at this price, even if it only lasts a year??

Not sure about taking it on though if the system is already u/s.

As you say running a BX 4x4 gives a taste of the nerves reqd to maintain such a car.

Good luck.

David W
Xantia Activa: how good? - Harmattan