BP Ultimate & Shell V-Power - LinuxGeek
I know this has been discussed here few times but I just wanted to share my own experiences with both.
In my 323 2.0 TD I've been filling it up with Shell V-Power for past 4/5 months. Almost 3 weeks ago, I filled it up with BP Ultimate and I noticed after driving it for a bit that car was a bit more responsive. What surprised me the most was that with the same amount of diesel and same sorts of journies I got 60 miles more. I filled it up again with the BP Ultimate and the same happened and now I've filled it up with BP Ultimate for 3rd time running.
I always thought Shell VPower was better but my car has sort of proved me wrong. Has anyone else had the same sorts of experience?
BP Ultimate & Shell V-Power - A11DNL
Ultimate is 55 Cetane v 50 for V-Power so is beneficial if your car can use it. I do - in a MINI Clubman D. (It seems quieter too.)
BP Ultimate & Shell V-Power - stan10
Hello MazMan, your post has just rung a bell with me, so apologies for the two-pronged reply, and also, probably for the length.
Diesel - i am a diesel novice, and not especially a fan, so when i bought a diesel commercial early last year, i trawled the 'net for info, and came up with
Petrol - Shell make the best
Diesel - BP make the best (ultimate)
However, Which? mag recently dissected various diesel fuels, and concluded that - ultimate is -the best- BUT, their regular diesel has all but exactly the same amount of ingredients that make it so, and therefore, taking the price difference into account, could see no reason for using the expensive brew.
( i have used ultimate from the start, but have now changed to regular on the basis of this report, and in a non-lab situation i can't notice any difference )

However - Petrol ..
I have always used Esso, because it's the nearest / cheapest "brand" in my area ( it matches the supermarkets).
Over Christmas i took the 1.8 Mondeo estate on a 450mile round trip (mostly motorway).