1998 1.9TD Various problems - martay
Hi Guys

Please can someone give me some advice, I am a novice when it comes to mechanics! I have had no problems with my 306 and all in all been very happy with it, (and I have to be it?s got to last me another couple of years yet!) It?s a 1.9 Turbo Diesel, S Reg with 123,000 miles on the clock, it has been serviced every year (whether it?s done the mileage or not)

However in the last few weeks some gremlins seem to have crept in and I would like some advice so I know what I am dealing with if I go to a garage or if it?s something simple I can fix myself.

1. The air ventilation system has stopped working, also the recirculation and air conditioning buttons do not turn on either, would this be the fuses? Or a wiring issue?

2. More worryingly, when I go to pull off and bring the clutch up to the bite point the car judders (even with a reasonable amount of revs) as if something isn?t quite catching?? If that makes sense? The same happens sometimes in reverse, but in all the other gears it doesn?t do it. Once it?s moving (Say between 5 and 10mph) in first the judders stop however it doesn?t sound good.

Thank you for any advise I am given I really need your help!!!

Martay

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 06/10/2008 at 11:12

1998 1.9D tur Various problems and I really really - rossinatrench
1. this is probably a fuse given that the buttons do not turn on, try changing these first - always start with the simplest option. If this doesnt work then it maybe to do with the wiring however this is not a common fault

2. this isn't uncommon, I have known a few 1.9tds to do this and they seem to be running fine still. Its more at higher revs that this needs to be worried about. However, if you are good mechanically it may be worth looking at the clutch, if not take it to your local trusted garage and ask them to see

hope this helps
1998 1.9D tur Various problems and I really really - Peter.N.