Taking out a learner - adam f
My brother has bought a car but has not yet passed his test. He has insured the car on a provisional basis. I have been driving for almost 4 years.
Can i take him out in it (he will be driving) on learner plates on the insurance he has got? or do i have to be insured on that car as well?
Taking out a learner - deepwith
www.helpingldrivers.com/law/supervisor.htm
thank you for that - most helpfull
Taking out a learner - commerdriver
Dont know if it's a legal requirement but I have always had an extra rear view mirror on the windscreen as well
Taking out a learner - jmaccyd
Indeed, and a good early lesson on the emergency stop so that you can be sure that they can cope with a real situation on the road.
Taking out a learner - Robin Reliant
Indeed and a good early lesson on the emergency stop so that you can be
sure that they can cope with a real situation on the road.

I wouldn't agree with that. I used to leave the emergency stop till a few lessons before the test. One of the big problems with learner drivers is that they tend to over-react, and if you put emphasis on the stop too early in the lessons they are likely to become brake happy with the inevitable result.

Better to be very vigilant so you are ready with a verbal instruction when you see a situation that might develop into an emergency if ignored.
Taking out a learner - jmaccyd
Of course clear instruction on the purpose and use of the emergency stop is required, but in a car not fitted with dual controls, I would not want my first emergency stop practise to be little Billy running out from behind the ice cream van. Occasionally as an ADI I was asked to teach people in their own car, without the security of dual controls, one of the earlist things I would cover would be the emergency stop
Taking out a learner - Cliff Pope