Help Please- satnav - Jensen
Hope someone can point me in the right direction, I have obtained a HP IPAQ 3970 and want to use it as a sat nav device in my car. It is completely standard out of the box and what I need to know is:-

1) what software do I need?
2) what GPS Receiver do I need?
3) Can I get a power lead to plug into my cigarette lighter to power the IPAQ when on the move?
4) Is there anything else I need to do/get before it will work?

Sorry if these questions are a bit basic but I have never used any sat nav or an IPAQ before. Also I would like the cheapest options on all questions please.

Thanks in advance

Jensen
Help Please! - Truckersunite
I think the 3970 is bluetooth enabled, there fore you would need the following:-

1) Software is personal choice, there are quite a few on the market, I use TomTom, but thats because it suits me, others use AA and there are various others, Have a look at pocketgps.com they do alot of tests etc.
2) You can probably use a Bluetooth receiver,which seem to work quite well, There are plenty for sale on auction sites, or you could use a wired receiver, again it's personal preference.
3) power leads are avaliable for most types, Some GPS receivers use a cradle and therefore will charge your Ipaq whilst it is in it.
4) Not really, read the instructions, you may need a storage card that has suffecient memory for the programme you want to install on it.....most are fairly stright forward to set up.

Best advice is vist the web site mentiond above, it has loads of info.......I have no interests in the site I hasten to add.
Help Please! - Ex-Moderator
You would also do well to search this forum since there is quite a lot of discussion on the subject fo Satnav here.

Use the forum search option over to the right, not the site search above.
Help Please- satnav - Marky Mark
Jensen,