Local lunacy (again!) - Ian (Cape Town)
I beg the moderators\' indulgence on this! I KNOW I\'ve posted similar stories many times before, but it just goes to show what we have to put up with...

This is a nightmare. I have been examining vehicles since 1990 and this is probably the worst I\'ve ever seen.\"

This is how vehicle examiner Kim Lee described a minibus taxi stopped between Verulam and Umdloti and subsequently suspended for being unroadworthy.

Lee, Assistant Director in the Motor Transport Services Division of the department of transport, said he had stopped counting once he had found 50 faults on the vehicle.

The 1982 Toyota Super 10 had been converted to carry 18 passengers and the driver. Among the faults found on the taxi were:
Three different sizes of tyres;
A bald spare tyre;
No working lights;
Broken engine mountings;
Defective handbrake cables;
An unsound chassis;
Defective steering mechanism

What was most disturbing was that the taxi, which had been impounded by members of the Public Transport Enforcement Unit on May 21, had been granted a Certificate of Fitness on April 1.
\"A cruel April Fool\'s joke indeed,\" said Lee.
There was also evidence of a defective clutch, shock absorbers and ball joints, leaking brake fluid and loose exhaust brackets.
Aside from the mechanical defects, the taxi also had various structural failures. Cracks repaired with body putty had reappeared.
Some of those threatened to separate the roof from the rest of the taxi. The doors were unable to shut tightly because rust had loosened their hinges. The rear hatch could not be opened and a missing window was covered with tape.
The driver\'s seat belt had no anchors and hung loosely from a hole in the floor. The windscreen wipers, which did not work, were held together with tape.
\"The whole thing is held together with body putty and duct tape.\"
\"It is literally about to fall apart and it was only a matter of time before someone died in it,\" said Lee.