405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Rob the Bus {P}
Morning all

I've just acquired a 93 Peugeot 405 1.6GL but have no idea whether it is fuel injected or not.

I've had a quick gander under the bonnet and didn't see anything that looked like a carb (can't spell the full name!). Mind you, my technical knowledge is only slightly greater than HF's!

Where the throttle cable comes in, there's a load of 'gubbins', one part of which is labelled "Magneti Marelli".

Any of you know what this may be?

Thanks in advance

Rob

405 - Carb or fuel injection? - RichardW
Rob,

Magneti Marelli make injection systems so there's your answer! Catalytic converters were compulsory from about 93, and you need injection to run of them, so it's very likely to be injected.

--
RichardW

Is it illogical? It must be Citroen....
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Wee Willie Winkie
Don't you trust my word then? :-)

It is fuel injected. Trust me, I'm a doctor.
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Altea Ego
Magneti Marelli? Oh Dear Rob, its got FIAT bits in it.........
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Andrew-T
Rob - I think Peugeots switched from carbs to injection about 1991, before the K-plate cat-converter legislation took effect. Certainly true for 205s, and I would guess it happened to 405s a bit sooner.
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Rob the Bus {P}
Thanks for your replies.

DB - I posted the question before I got your e-mail!

Cheers

Rob
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - PhilW
"Magneti Marelli? Oh Dear Rob, its got FIAT bits in it........."

Ferrari bits surely????

According to my old Xantia Haynes the 1.6 (same as Peugeot?) has a Mag Marelli 8P system -fuel injection of a "self-learning" type which "monitors and stores the settings which give optimum engine performance under all conditions"
405 - Carb or fuel injection? - Bof