The Speed Camera Thread - Volume 16 - Dynamic Dave

THREAD CLOSED, PLEASE CONTINUE DISCUSSION IN

"The Speed Camera Thread - Volume 17"

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=18579

For the continued discussion of all things pertaining to Speed Cameras.

Volume Fifteen filled up.

This is Volume 16, 15 is closed.

There is no need to repeat anything since earlier volumes will not be deleted, although I am quite sure that this will not stop you.

--
Dynamic Dave
Back Room Moderator

mailto:dave_moderator@honestjohn.co.uk
Ministers challenge - midlifecrisis
With reference to the article on this site, challenging the ABD tp prove that speed cameras have only been installed in accident blackspots. As a Traffic Officer, I recently challenged those responsible in my Force about the positioning of newly installed cameras. They have been put in positions where I know for a fact that no accidents have happened. The response was that the 'insert road number here' has had a number of serious accidents in the last three years. I then pointed out that the road is around 40 miles long, but no specific point is a 'blackspot'. Certainly the places where the cameras have been installed are definitely not blackspots.
I have also witnessed civilian admin workers altering accident reports, changing the conclusion from actual cause to 'excess speed'. When challenged they replied, "it looks better on the stats". I raised this with a senior officer, but never heard anything again.
It is true that there are lies, damned lies and statistics.
P.S. If anybody from the ABD wants to contatct me through this site, I'll tell them where the cameras are.
Ministers challenge - nick
This is very disconcerting news, midlife, if this is widespread it makes a mockery of the stats.
Unfortunately, to get this properly looked at would mean you putting your head above the parapet and probably losing your job. How depressing.
Ministers challenge - eMBe {P}
The article MLF refers to is