306 TD - unexpected white smoke - Ian-B
The cars' a 306 xrdt (1.9 td) '94 with 85k,
It's used daily on a 60 mile round journey on m'ways & dual carriegeways.
It's been running ok except this morning when I accelerated hard in 3rd up a hill past a slower vehicle, it pulled ok but for the next 3 to 4 miles it was chucking out white smoke as I drove at a steady 60.
This cleared then the rest of the journey seemed ok although I did keep to a very steady speed,
Am I likely to have blown something or was it just clearing it's lungs so to speak, I don't normally push the revs above 3000 or so as I let the torque do the work.
Any thoughts anyone - keep it in layman's terms, my mechanical knowledge is about 1 spanner rated.
Thanks

Ian
306 TD - unexpected white smoke - leatherpatches
I'm no mechanical expert, but I'd say it sounds like head gasket is on its way out.

Other symptoms of a blown head gasket include:
- White smoke coming from the tailpipe, sometimes intermittently.
- Water in the oil. When they mix, the oil gets a chocolate milkshake appearance (check the dipstick and filler cap for 'mayonaise'.
- Oil in the coolant.
- Cylinder pressure low when using either the wet or dry compression method.
- Cooling system will not hold pressure when statically pressurized.

Look for any combination of these symptoms to diagnose a bad head gasket.
306 TD - unexpected white smoke - Den
Ian,
I had a similar experience, 306 L 1.9 diesel T reg 60k.
Overtook approx 50+ and a huge cloud of white smoke plus a ticking noise (I think from fuel pump)happened.
Car slowed then carried on its merry way, nothing untoward re engine etc.
Same thing happened again about a month later.
That was approx a year ago.
Mechanic came to the conclusion that a piece of dirt had clogged and then cleared itself in the fuel pump.
No problem since.
Hope this helps.
Dennis.
306 TD - unexpected white smoke - Malcolm_L