Car park bump - any advice re Ins? - glen
Hello there, I'm a first time poster - but was recommended this site by a friend who says there's a lot of decent people here - I'd really appreciate any help on an insurance matter. I've got a lot of things happening at the moment, so I'm after the easiest solution.

Details are below, I'm after any advice on the following (I know I'm asking a lot - I'm a new driver and have not had any incidents before, any small snippets of advice are welcomed)

1. We're both keen to avoid the insurance companies, I haven't built up any no claims bonus yet and don't want to be penalised by a claim, even though I'm entirely innocent.
2. Ideally I'd like to be reimbursed for my loss when selling in 18 months time and do a fix-up job myself for now.
3. If I go through my own or the other party's insurance - what's the risk of them writing off my car if the damage is too expensive? I don't want the hassle of looking for a new one, and couldn't replace it with one as good.
4. Will a garage make a reasonable job, or can I fix the damage cheaply myself? (I'm reasonably handy).
5. Any pitfalls for handling this type of incident? (obviously I get the money up front - do i ask for cash? garage account paid up front? What if the cost is more than the estimate?)

All the best,

Glen

Details: J reg Honda Civic Saloon, good condition for age, low rust. Insured for 750 pounds, comprehensive, 0 no claims bonus (new driver), no protected discount.

Bump:
My car was hit while unattended in a car park. A witness saw the incident, and it appears the person drove into it at 45 degrees from the rear. It must have been at quite a speed as my car was pushed forward at least half a metre - and I found it against the front kerb (nestled in a small hedge...) The culprit left contact details, which checked out.

Legal: