Honda Civic Hatchback - Which car - 2008/15k miles VS 2011/65k miles? - JFante

I'm after a Honda Civic Hatchback. I have found a Honda Approved one with extremely low mileage of 15k but it's 8 years old. Or there's one near me (not approved) which is 5 years old but has 65k miles. The latter one looks a lot nicer, has better features etc. But my main priority is reliability and longevity. I want to keep this car for 5 years minimum and will be doing 15k miles per year. I travel a lot so reliability is key. Everything else I don't really care about.

Both petrol. Both the same price. Both serviced each year, both have 12 month MOT, both seem well-kept to me (I'm no expert admittedly). What would you do? Thanks for any help, I'm going round in circles...

Honda Civic Hatchback - Which car - 2008/15k miles VS 2011/65k miles? - RobJP

In general, newer is better.

15k miles in 8 years (less than 2,000 miles a year) probably means that the car has barely ever been warmed up, lots of short trips from cold. Or it means that it's sat around for a long time.

Neither of which is particularly desirable.

The 5 yr old one, on the other hand, has done a reasonable mileage. 12k per annum is pretty much 'standard', and is indicative of regular usage.

Honda Civic Hatchback - Which car - 2008/15k miles VS 2011/65k miles? - Falkirk Bairn

My son had one in 2007 - nice car in some respects BUT it had lots of teething problems under warranty - lost confidence in the car & the Dealer in Grangemouth - sold it in 2010 - the RAV4 which was more reliable but again not perfect.

Honda Civic Hatchback - Which car - 2008/15k miles VS 2011/65k miles? - focussed

I agree with newer is better - the 8th generation was well sorted by 2011, petrol not my choice but it's your call.

Honda Civic Hatchback - Which car - 2008/15k miles VS 2011/65k miles? - focussed

I agree with newer is better - the 8th generation was well sorted by 2011, petrol not my choice but it's your call.