What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Volkswagen Polo V 2009

2
reviewed by tony hodgkinson on 16 December 2018
4
reviewed by Andy lee on 30 August 2018
4
reviewed by Andy lee on 11 August 2018
4
reviewed by Andy lee on 11 August 2018
5

Match 1.2 TDI 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by SLO76 on 23 March 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Great all rounder

Bought to transport my wife to Uni in a desperate attempt to become a kept man, our wee Polo although not fault free has been a very pleasant little second car.

High speed stability and a torquey little diesel motor grant it excellent distance covering capabilities and it's often been my choice to use on runs south of the border rather than our Honda CRV. Good ride, unusual in a super mini and a decent amount of feel from the steering mean it's enjoyable on B roads too.

The negatives include a habit for causing irritating little electrical annoyances such as boot lock (wish they'd fitted a key lock here), a handbrake that sticks on and an appetite for bulbs. Economy has never came close to matching the claims with 50mpg the norm day to day but exceeding 60mpg can be done on longer runs easily enough, drive like your old auntie and more is possible but then if you drive like that you'd own a Honda Jazz.

All in all a pleasant little car but not as well made as VW would have you believe. But the outstanding local dealer has offset much of this and won several well out of warranty goodwill claims of our behalf from a rather obliging VW. I'd say that I'll buy another but I'm so pleased with it I intend on seeing just how long it'll run for.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Mikel Slobovitch on 11 August 2017
4
reviewed by peter hughes on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Robert12345 on 4 January 2017
3
reviewed by James Mansell on 28 November 2016
4
reviewed by expattrev on 21 May 2016
4
reviewed by ghrgolf on 16 January 2016
5
reviewed by Pashka on 26 June 2015
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 April 2014
4
reviewed by DeepCover on 28 October 2013
3
reviewed by cygnet on 28 August 2013
4
reviewed by A_T on 24 August 2013
5
reviewed by MN_London on 8 October 2012
1
reviewed by _G_ on 7 October 2012
1
reviewed by yitzak on 25 June 2012
1
reviewed by sheepdogbill on 2 June 2012
5
reviewed by chewer1 on 20 January 2012
3
reviewed by cantata on 3 January 2012
1
reviewed by CSG on 23 June 2011
1
reviewed by _G_ on 24 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£10,770–£20,605
Road TaxA–E
MPG47.9–91.1 mpg
Real MPG81.4%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car