What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Nissan Almera Tino (2000 - 2006)

5
reviewed by cossieman on 12 May 2015
4
reviewed by cossieracer on 17 February 2015
5

Nissan Tino 1.8 SE

reviewed by dombat on 13 October 2014
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Cheap, reliable, spacious and flexible.

This is my fourth Nissan in 15 years, again with near perfect reliability. I purchased it at about 45000 miles, it has now done 69000 miles. I had both exhaust sensors replaced by Nissan about a year ago when the engine management light was on, but that has been it. It is easy to do your own maintenance, with plenty of space in the engine bay.

If you do your own servicing, Nissan counter spares are cheap. A 5 litre bottle of oil is cheaper than Halfords as is the oil filter. Windscreen wipers and plugs are good value too.

It is fairly nippy when there's only the driver. I fitted Goodyear Vector 4Seasons tyres (which are all season-snow rated tyres, cheaper than many equivalent summer tyres too). They have transformed the car. Despite wallowing around a bit on soft suspension you can go round wet roundabouts with confidence inspiring grip. It is very easy to upset "the rear wheel drive" brigade by being able to pull away in the wet with no wheel spin and put down maximum traction. Who would've thought it could be so fun!

Negatives are:
Doesn't like to be revved beyond 5000 RPM.
Boot lid raises to about 5'10" so anyone taller than this needs to duck a little bit.
Interior is a bit plasticy, but this is common of older Japanese cars.

In conclusion another great, cheap dependable car from Nissan. My two dealers (Aldershot and Shepperton) are very good with cheap fixed priced servicing. If you're after a large five seater then this must be on your short-list.

Update 7th Sept 2014
The car has all of a sudden been burning a lot of oil (5 litres since Christmas). This seems to be a fairly common problem with the later models. Strangely the plugs are clean so the oil isn't being burnt in the cylinder. Anyway, as mentioned earlier a 5L tub of oil from Nissan is cheap so just topping up weekly does the trick. I was worried that the oil burning would damage the catalitic converter, but it passed it's MOT again yesterday with no problems. No retest required! What a legend. We don't do anything to the car (except keep the oil topped up) and it just passes year after year.

Update October 2014
Part exchanged the Tino (£300) for a brand new half price Zafira. I would normally only buy Japanese but half price with lifetime warranty was too good to pass up. Now that we have a "bigger" car it makes the Tino seem even better.

We have parking sensors on the Zafira but a camera on the Tino (better).
With all the seats down & forward in the Zafira I still need to take both wheels of a bicycle to fit it in. In the Tino I only took one wheel off.
I could get 40mpg without really trying in the Tino but the Zafira rarely manages to get over 30mpg (hopefully this is down to being "stiff/new" but it has now done 1000 miles and no change).
The Tino rear seats could be completely removed, in the Zafira they are just a simple "bench" that moves.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Davros0110 on 20 July 2013
5
reviewed by Mark P. on 27 April 2012
4
reviewed by alfamonk on 16 April 2011
5
reviewed by davidcharles on 13 February 2011

Write your review

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by davethesteam
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car