What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Mitsubishi Colt 5-door 2004

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2019
3
reviewed by men-saab on 6 August 2017
5
reviewed by men-saab on 10 November 2016
5
reviewed by men-saab on 20 August 2016
5

1.1 CZ1

reviewed by men-saab on 15 July 2016
5
Overall rating
3
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Motoring hidden gem - all the car you need in the real world.

I needed to reduce my running costs, and saw this parked at the roadside one day - the dealer was fair and helpful, and we did the deal on the spot. I've not regretted it since.

It was only meant to be for the short term, but I can't see me parting with it any time soon. If you think the Jazz is clever but expensive, try one of these - the space is amazing, helped by a slightly taller stance which means you open the door, and jump in. Every other car you enter will seem cramped and low after this!

The rear seats fold of course, but so does the front passenger seat! The rear bench slides to increase boot space if you want. Interior quality isn't like a VW and was much criticised by the press, yet that simply means it's hard wearing - mine still looks like new inside after 10 years. And why do you want to be constantly prodding the dash anyway...

The basic 1.1 is all you need - 75bhp and 3 lively cylinders, it throbs, whistles and wails cheerfully. And while nippy round town, it's quite happy on the motorway too, I've done 20,000m in a year with it.

HJ lists it as one of the top cars to be closest to its claimed fuel figures, I agree - I average between 45-55mpg real world. Why bother with troublesome diesel's?

Drawbacks? Of course, don't they all? It's not exciting to drive, it just...drives. But that's not why you buy this type of car. The biggest complaint I have is noise - there's a fair old amount of road noise at high speed. Perhaps the (hideous) face lifted one is better.

Real world costs are low, and if you bemoan the curse of modern complicated cars, rejoice - this is a doddle to home service, with a room engine bay and cheaply available service parts. I've just fully serviced mine for £40. And the clutch was just £230 supplied and fitted.

I can't think of any justifiable reason to get rid - it fills most needs pretty well. Best of all, they are really cheap to buy since they bombed in the market place.

Will I have another? Definitely yes.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by broadster on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by zooooooom on 16 June 2013
5
reviewed by russian on 27 December 2012
5
reviewed by MrShocky on 19 February 2012
5
reviewed by greco on 5 May 2011
4
reviewed by miked7 on 5 January 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£7,894–£11,935
Road TaxD–F
MPG45.6–58.9 mpg
Real MPG94.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Bob Dillon
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Daniel Beynon
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car