What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Mercedes-Benz E-Class (1995 - 2002)

4
reviewed by rgt1973 on 24 November 2017
5
reviewed by bigshineybike on 1 November 2017
3

E240 Estate

reviewed by DavidChing on 10 May 2016
3
Overall rating
5
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Great to drive but the rust is getting embarrasing

Bought 2nd hand from dealer in 2010 with 56k miles, reasoning that you get a hell of a lot of car for the money. No obvious rust patches then. Have now done another 40k in 6 years.

Rust is the major issue - passenger front wheel arch is very bad, as well as another 5 or 6 patches all over. Not good for a so called quality car. Also parts of the inside trim have broken off which does make you question Mercedes build quality - Mercedes door plate, rear seat clip, central ashtray

Maintenance costs have been ok with the most expensive job fixing a leaking hydraulic suspension from London's speed bumps. The wheels are continually black from brake dust both front and rear. The electrics are also troublesome - the rear break light is very dodgy; the temperature and clock LEDS have longs since been impossible to read; the fuse box and I are regular friends.

Is a great car to drive and surprising light and responsive for such a big car. It is though in its element as a long distance motorway cruiser and is probably the most comfortable car i have ever owned.

The car is cavenous, but also is a pig to park without parking sensors.

I get c. 28.4 mpg on motorway and in low 20s for urban driving. It seems to be more economic driving at 85mph than 60 ?

So overall I guess I cannot complain that I bought a 6k luxury car that has lasted 6 years with satisfactory running costs. Its just that rust... I cannot park near the other Dads after school for shame and am living in fear of the embarrassment of having it inspected for a PX or sale. If this was a car I bought brand new for 45k in 2003 and I saw it now, then I would not be happy.

I think it shows either buy new and sell once the warranty ends or buy at the end of the depreciation cycle and run into the ground.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by myname on 7 February 2014
3
reviewed by kevin neate on 1 December 2013
4
reviewed by tescodirect on 8 September 2011
5
reviewed by merc001 on 8 March 2011
3
reviewed by kevin neate on 12 December 2010

Write your review

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Happy Blue!
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car