BMW 5 Series (2010 - 2017)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 February 2021
5
reviewed by spikemears on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 January 2019
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 June 2018
5
reviewed by gary bampkin on 20 June 2018
5
reviewed by Tre Pares on 15 June 2018
4
reviewed by GeoffJ on 13 December 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 November 2017
5
reviewed by Charley Horse on 3 August 2017
5
reviewed by Michael21 on 10 November 2016
5
reviewed by djmill on 18 March 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by Corporate Gypsy on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by GUGA on 18 December 2013
5
reviewed by AW Manchester on 30 November 2013
3

520d SE 4dr Saloon

reviewed by Rochdale Pioneers on 24 August 2012
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

A mile-munching barge

I've had this car for a year and put 57k miles on it, mainly motorway but also trips round the far north of Scotland, so its been well used.

My initial impression was wow, its a good looking car and you can drive it all day and get out happy. Its very well built and in the year I've had it reliability ha been impeccable. But a change of job means saying bye to it, and I've done some hard thinking about what I like and dislike.

Firstly handling is poor compared to other BMWs without VDC. Its softly sprung which makes it comfy but not as chuckable as my E91 320d was. This car is nothing special to drive, and that's a poor show for a BMW. Other posters eulogise abouthandling, I assume they have variable dampers - a lot of 520ds in my company fleet and we all have the same view about the poor ride.

Other than that, Electric parking brake switches are the work of Satan, there's more interior space in my wife's Hyundai i30, and I hate the way that from the drivers seat the front and back of the car are guesses rather than something I can see - less a fault of the car than a malaise affecting so many new cars.

So if you want one, get VDC on the spec or don't buy. The 2 litre diesel has as much real world power and pace as you need and is economical if you're paying the bill. On a 120 mile run taking t easy up the motorway (65mph) I got 61mpg out of it, which shows how amazing modern diesels can be.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 July 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 April 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 April 2012
5
reviewed by denny on 5 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£30,265–£58,075
Road TaxC–J
MPG32.1–68.9 mpg
Real MPG72.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by r groocock
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car