BMW 4 Series (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 September 2021
5
reviewed by b6waf on 16 March 2020
5
reviewed by Robert wheeler on 28 September 2018
5
reviewed by LEXOWNER on 24 August 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
5

420d coupe

reviewed by Anonymous on 26 August 2017
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Pleasurable.

This is an update after 36 months with my BMW 420d coupe (see initial review under JAH216); mileage now 31,000 and first MoT due - front tyres are at 5mm, rears c3mm so I will replace rears prior to the MOT. Side to side they have worn evenly which is reassuring (Quoted £420 for two similar Bridgestone rears) Usual MPG averages 45 come rain, snow, frost or even occasional heatwave, with 60+ (calculated by me) on a longer motorway journey at a steady 70-80mpg. Always use Shell V Power or equivalent if not available.

Undergone 2 services with BMW as indicated by the on board system as part of BMW service package (I appreciate HJ's comments about regular/annual services but I have stuck to service plan at approx 15,000 miles/18 month intervals).

Not one thing has gone wrong with this car in 36 months and it is still a pleasure to own, drive and of course to just look at. Anticipated long distance touring has not materialised due to opportunities to travel further abroad, but hopefully with semi-retirement on the horizon this will be addressed.

It is a little low for access and egress for my 88 year old mother-in-law but a hard orthopedic cushion on the front seat helps - she says she will go in the back but I fear she will end up a cuckoo in the nest..........

I am still satisfied by the ride although I tried a Mercedes C class Coupe and this was more complaint; however I tip my hat to HJ and acknowledge that road noise can be intrusive - fine (for me) on nice new smooth motorway surfaces and at sub 50mph speeds, but very noticeable on worn out and broken surfaces at motorway speeds. A better or upgraded speaker system may mitigate this.

After 36 months I have looked around to change but frankly not much else takes my fancy - the C class Coupe was nice but surprisingly cramped especially in the rear and I like the Lexus RC 200t but rear room seems even worse, so why pay again for the same experience? I will look to follow my initial plan to keep around 5 years (or until I will have to pay for next service). I am aware that BMW take some bashing and they may not be the exclusive brand they once were, but from my experiences over the years they just suit my wife and I and it must help to have built up a good relationship with Dick Lovett Swindon. It cannot be a co-incidence that 50% of my immediate neighbours also drive BMW's.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Friendlybear on 23 August 2015
5
reviewed by jah216 on 16 December 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 18 February 2014
5
reviewed by Quadlock on 16 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 December 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£30,610–£46,095
Road TaxC–I
MPG34.9–70.6 mpg
Real MPG75.1%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Sandra lyons
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car