Which products have made it into the Honest John Kit gift guides for Christmas 2019? You'll be surprised... | No thanks

BMW 3 Series Convertible (2007 - 2012)

3
reviewed by symonh on 1 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 September 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2017
5
reviewed by John Holton on 16 May 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 January 2015
3
reviewed by Yorky Bob on 8 July 2014
4

325i SE Auto 2dr Open Car

reviewed by filkoj on 24 January 2014
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
2
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Perhaps the best convertible that seats 4 adults - but like all convertibles the roof causes compromises

The bmw 325i e93 convertible is a very good car. It does an excellent impression of a rather dull 3 series with the top up. Cabin noise is incredibly low, the engine perhaps the smoothest I have ever driven, the interior is luxurious and often gets compliments from passengers. The rear seats are functional although an adult will complain on a long drive. With the roof up there is sufficient boot space, once the roof is lowered the boot space is poor. The folding hard top is incredible, with no leaks and it seems very reliable and robust. With the roof down, redlining the engine produce a beautiful sound. Really great fun!
My mine gripe about the car is its weight. To keep the chassis as stiff as the BMW engineers want it they have added a lot of steel and you can feel it. The engine has something around the 215hp mark which should be more than enough for me under normal circumstances but I hadn't factored in the extra weight. I would recommend getting the 330i. Obviously, you'll get nowhere near the reported mpg if you drive it as bmw intended. Also, I moved form Switzerland to Italy with this car. The ride with runflats is not really conducive with Italian roads. In Switzerland it was never an issue.
In the market spiel for this car BMW said something like "a car without compromises" but for me the significant weight gain is a compromise I am not comfortable with. In short if you must have a convertible then the E93 is a very good car. I wish I'd bought the 330i coupe though.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by nyg on 17 March 2012
5
reviewed by peteindorset on 14 February 2012
5
reviewed by Yorky Bob on 22 August 2011
1
reviewed by C1J on 7 April 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,235–£46,770
Road TaxE–L
MPG29.4–55.4 mpg
Real MPG85.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Richard Sanders
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car