What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

BMW 1 Series (2011 on)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 February 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 January 2019
5
reviewed by Phil Randall on 16 December 2018
5
reviewed by Adam Bright on 23 September 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 July 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 June 2018
5

116d 1.5 Sport 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 23 June 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Best Premium Hatchback

My father got this car as a lease to replace his 2009 Volkswagen Golf 1600cc diesel and from day one he has been in love.

The biggest selling point for my Dad was the fuel economy and £20 a year road tax, on average returning very high miles per gallon of very high 50s to mid 60s.

The acceleration is very fast as well for a 1500cc, three cylinder diesel and to drive no hatchback can match the 1 Series.

Inside the car feels very expensive and well screwed together. You can do lots of miles in it in without getting a bad back - which my father does regularly going to various golf clubs and holidays in both the UK and around Europe, racking up 40.000 miles in 2 years of ownership.

The iDrive system is also brilliant to use, very easy and clear, even my 74 year old father can use it with ease - well done BMW IT Guys!

Over the 2 Years and 40.000 miles the only issue the car had was a tyre completely blowing out and the tyre gel provided to fill the runflats not doing a good enough job leaving him waiting an hour for a recovery truck on his way back from golfing - space saver spare would be nice, BMW.

Other than that the only downside to the 1 Series is that the boot is far away from being the biggest in its class. My Father could still use the 1 Series for golfing and holidays however he occasionally had to fold down the rear seats.

Overall, me and my father would both recommend the 1 Series as it is a very cheap to run hatchback that is enjoyable to drive and very reliable.

When my Father replaces his 116d he is looking at either buying a new 118d or possibly an X1 20d.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 May 2018
5
reviewed by Ian Garratt on 28 November 2017
4
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 8 September 2017
5
reviewed by Fos on 31 May 2017
3
reviewed by medview on 18 February 2017
3
reviewed by Ian Cogger on 11 February 2017
1
reviewed by chris mouland on 30 January 2017
3
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 10 June 2015
4
reviewed by Fat_Beagle on 17 May 2015
5
reviewed by dodo on 21 February 2015
5
reviewed by tiggerii on 15 January 2015
4
reviewed by jah216 on 15 December 2014
4
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 30 October 2014
4
reviewed by AlexJ on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by jah216 on 9 July 2014
5
reviewed by RustyBalls on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 October 2013
2
reviewed by baconmd on 17 March 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£22,990–£40,400
Road TaxA–J
MPG35.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG76.4%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by AlWoo
4
submitted by Richard Sanders
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car