Is your car your pride and joy, or are you ready for a change? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

BMW 1 Series E81/E87 2004

3
reviewed by London drac on 17 October 2015
3
reviewed by London drac on 17 October 2015
4
reviewed by 123dauto on 20 March 2015
4
reviewed by roywallis43 on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by barnywig on 28 October 2013
4
reviewed by roywallis43 on 28 October 2013
4

M-Sport 118d 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by PJT578 on 22 April 2013
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
1
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

A robust and reliable car the 118d is competent in all departments

In three years and 50k miles I have had no mechanical or electrical issues with the car.
The 118d powertrain is smooth and relaxed, it will pull continuously to the redline but there is no familiar diesel torque surge. As a rear wheel drive car you do need to adjust your driving style as overspeed entry into to corners will produce understeer.

I have had no issues with clutch judder, battery, auto start-stop or with the diesel particulate filter. I had one minor issue with the drivers seat fabric splitting after 18 months, but this is a known issue with the artificial flashpoint/sensatech cloth.

In cold conditions winter tyres transform the car and even on run-flat's the road noise is reduced. Budget on having a set of winter tyres, you can use them from October to March.

My normal commute is 11 miles mixed driving each way, fuel consumption has always been between 48-52 mpg, 60mpg is only realistically achieved on longer journeys if you leave the cruise control on 60mph. M-Sport cars do not have active radiator flaps so realistically a SE spec car would have achieved a better consumption.

The car is setup with variable interval servicing, so maintenance costs are based on how you drive, there is a huge range in prices between main dealers and good independents.
Do your homework and find one that fits your pocket.

My minor negative comments are;
1. Black interior heats-up even on mildly sunny days.
2. Pedals are offset left-right, and also the organ-pedal style throttle sits a bit closer.
3. Business CD player is a terrible head unit.
4. Gear linkage can be a little stiff, this could be due to the clutch delay valve.
5. Preset 'camber pin' on front suspension mounts can lead to outer shoulder tyre wear.

A robust and reliable car the 118d is competent in all departments, I would recommend this as an alternative to a Civic, Focus, Golf or A3.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 8 February 2013
5
reviewed by growlydog on 6 November 2012
5
reviewed by rodnick on 9 October 2012
2
reviewed by dvs on 12 September 2011
3
reviewed by hillwalker on 14 February 2011
2
reviewed by KayJay on 7 January 2011
4
reviewed by login on 8 June 2010
1
reviewed by sueredhed on 23 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£16,785–£30,270
Road TaxC–K
MPG30.7–64.2 mpg
Real MPG81.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by gordon shaw
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car