Which products have made it into the Honest John Kit gift guides for Christmas 2019? You'll be surprised... | No thanks

BMW 1 Series (2004 - 2011)

3
reviewed by Meteiro on 1 July 2019
3
reviewed by Meteiro on 1 July 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 May 2019
3
reviewed by London drac on 17 October 2015
3
reviewed by London drac on 17 October 2015
4
reviewed by 123dauto on 20 March 2015
4
reviewed by roywallis43 on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by barnywig on 28 October 2013
4
reviewed by roywallis43 on 28 October 2013
4
reviewed by PJT578 on 22 April 2013
4
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 8 February 2013
5

116d Sport 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by growlydog on 6 November 2012
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Really good car - Cheap to run - Handles like a go-kart

After having had the car or almost 3 years, it will be time to change it to something else in a few months which is a shame as it's a great car. New car will not be a 1 series as the 3 kids are all 3 years older since we ordered the 1 series and they need a bit more room now.

Based on the almost 3 years with this car I would love another BMW but the next size up, the 3 series is too expensive for me.

Lot's of owner reviews online say the suspension is too hard on Sport & MSport models - Well this is the point of them I think and it makes them handle amazing. If someone needs softer suspension they should not buy the sport model in the first place lol!

I do admit though, it came with Bridgestone tyres from new and after they wore out and were replaced with Pirelli's, they difference was incredible - The Pirelli's made it a much nicer car to drive & more or less like a diferent car altogether.

Yes it's cramped in the back, but it's a small, low hatchback so it's going to be lol....Anyone who buys a car without looking in the back to see if it's too small must be mad I think. We fit 1 large recaro child seat & 2 booster seats in the back (Only just though).

The reason we went for a 1 series in the first place, is after a day spent going round all the normal main dealers, the BMW dealer was approx 100x better than the others in every way, such as talkative, not giving the hard sell, keen to give a test drive etc. We actually went to buy a Seat Leon but the salesman said the other salesman took the demo car home for the weekend and then walked away without giving any other option.....

Some people complain they are no good in the snow and ice - Of course they are no good in snow & ice lol. They are rear wheel drive & have wide low profile tyres...It's the same for all cars that have this. Actually it's slightly better in the snow & ice than my rear wheel drive transit work van :)

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by rodnick on 9 October 2012
2
reviewed by dvs on 12 September 2011
3
reviewed by hillwalker on 14 February 2011
2
reviewed by KayJay on 7 January 2011
4
reviewed by login on 8 June 2010
1
reviewed by sueredhed on 23 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£16,785–£30,270
Road TaxC–K
MPG30.7–64.2 mpg
Real MPG81.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Richard Sanders
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car