Daihatsu Charade - Checking Main / Big End Bearings - edlithgow

I want to check my engine bearings (main and possibly big end) while I have my sump off to (hopefully) fix a leaking sump gasket with sealant.

Is it OK to take the bearing caps off one-at-a-time, photograph, and then replace and torque-up before doing the next one?

This my favored option, but the procedure in the Daihatsu manual assumes an engine rebuild, so all the bearings are loosened / tightened together.

Is doing them one-at-a-time likely to cause distortion?

Daihatsu Charade - Checking Main / Big End Bearings - skidpan

If its running fine with no noises and good oil pressure leave it well alone.

I appreciate your response, (though if anyone has an informed answer to the question I asked I'd appreciate that even more.)

I don't like the sound of it much (I'm no expert, but I THINK it sounds worse) and it was run dry, so some damage would be expected. I have to fix the oil leak , so the sump has to come off anyway.

I don't have an oil pressure guage fitted, unfortunately.

Daihatsu Charade - Checking Main / Big End Bearings - skidpan

Usual post where you are only told half the story.

If the engine has run dry and it sounds bad you need to consider either a full rebuild or a replacement from a write off. Debris from any damage will need cleaning out, if it is left you will simply damage any new parts and you will be back to your original situation with a noisy engine.

Simply taking the bearing caps off and taking photographs is a waste of time and effort, strange as it might appear it will not fix the damage and make the engine quiet again.

Please consider putting all the details in your original post, that way you will get a more informed answer.

Daihatsu Charade - Checking Main / Big End Bearings - jc2