police - police speed trap - lucythedog

I have a problem thats worrying me,.

I was driving down an dual carriageway A road at speed varying between 43 and 40 miles per hour, most people drive faster than me on this road. the speed limit is 40 in this particular stretch,.

I saw a lone policeman standing on the road at a distance pointing a gun at me,. I have never seen one of these before and it frightened me because I thought it was an actual gun,

I looked at the speedo and it said 40 mph, I may have been going a little over this before I saw the policeman at a distance and slowed out of reaction when I saw the gun, but it wouldnt have been more than 43 at most,

I am now worried I will get a ticket I cannot get any points as I am disabled and cannot be without a car. For this reason I am a slow and careful driver.

I have no point now, but even three would push up insurance costs, as as I am barely able to afford them as it is, this would be the end of my life as I simply couldnt pay the costs,

I am usually the one who gets hassled by drivers for keeping the speed limit, so dont deserve this grief.

I am panicking all the time, in fact this afternoon I almost got runover when I got out of the car, because I was only worring about the speed gun thing, and I am still distressed now. and wont be sleeping tonight or for the next two weeks.

please advise what I can do

police - police speed trap - jamie745

Well first off dont panic. They generally dont bother with something like a 43 in a 40. The 'guideline' is 10% + 2mph over the limit, now this isnt a cast iron law or a rule or anything its a guidance for the police, if they wanted to do you for 41 in a 40 and had conclusive proof then they could do so. But generally they dont so dont panic about anything yet.

Even if you do receive a ticket you do have the right to contest it.

www.which.co.uk/cars/driving/driving-advice/dealin.../

police - police speed trap - skittles