Nissan Vanette Cargo 2001 - Replacing corroded brake pipes - how complicated? - stuartl

My van has failed it's MOT on the copper/nickel brake pipes (all of them!) and I am considering doing the job myself. I am a plumber by trade so know my way around a bit of copper and am contemplating doing this myself. Aside of the pipe itself, a flaring tool and the correct unions do I need anything else? Maybe a small hand former for the bends?

Basically if the garage do the work it will make it uneconomical to repair hence the reason I am contemplating doing the job myself!

Any advice welcome, Many Thanks!

Nissan Vanette Cargo 2001 - Replacing corroded brake pipes - how complicated? - Peter.N.

Its not really a very difficult job if you can get to everything and all the unions come undone. You can probably get a flaring tool and coil of pipe and fittings from ebay.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Silverline-633545-Brake-Fuel-Pipe-Flaring-Tool-Kit-/170555846311?pt=UK_Hand_Tools_Equipment&hash=item27b5ebaea7

And pipe here

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-16-BRAKE-PIPE-COPPER-20-FREE-UNIONS-/350474756846?pt=UK_Hand_Tools_Equipment&hash=item5199ec62ee

Nissan Vanette Cargo 2001 - Replacing corroded brake pipes - how complicated? - gordonbennet

Used to make and replace lots of brake pipes in years gone by, since i've been able to buy newer/better cars i make sure the pipes are well greased/waxoyled and haven't changed one for years.

Anyway, yes it should be a straightforward job on a van like that, probably a simple beam or live rear axle, so easy access.

I used to buy Kunifer brake pipe, very pliable and never had any problems, probably old hat and gone out of business by now.

The worse part of the job will be undoing the connectors and bleed valves without snapping off....give em all a good dose of releasing fluid for a few days before you start.

Nissan Vanette Cargo 2001 - Replacing corroded brake pipes - how complicated? - stuartl