Diesel driving characteristics - David R
I am fairly new to diesel, having got a Seat Alhambra TDi a couple of months ago, and have had time to consider the characteristics of the engine.

The good
Effortless cruising and overtaking
Blinding economy

The bad
Urban driving.

Before I got a diesel I was led to understand that the huge torque pulled you in pretty much any gear. Where we live is heavy on roundabouts, and it seems pretty easy to get stuck in a the wrong gear with no power. I also have an old 115bhp BMW 318 petrol which will hit a roundabout in 4th gear with not much more than 1000rpm and still pull away ok. The diesel is left powerless and needs a gear or two dropped. Basically I seem to change gear a lot in the diesel when urban, which is not what I expected. I suspect part of the problem is generally tall gearing, although the engine seems to have a power dead spot below 1500rpm before the turbo kicks in. Is this the usual diesel experience? Still love the car though

David
Diesel driving characteristics - SjB {P}
In my Vectra GSi Estate, I often roll up to roundabouts in third gear, clutch engaged, revs dropped to five or six hundred, judge the gap, and go. Easily.

Borrowed a colleagues new 320d earlier in the year, and was impressed with the mid range torque.

However, he nearly had it returned in kit form: Doing my normal Vectra trick in his car, I found myself havng rolled on to the roundabout, at walking pace, foot welded to the floor, no acceleration AT ALL, and fast traffic bearing down on me.

So much for Diesel torque.
I would have thought that a three zillion to one compression ratio would have made it pull like a steam engine, even without any turbo boost, but obviously, not!

/Steve
Diesel driving characteristics - simonsmith473©