Polishing a Land Rover - Rob C
I have a curious urge to strip down my old Series III and do various restoration things, but if I strip the paint and polish the aluminium (or aluminum for the Americans) how long will it last, and will it end up looking like an old saucepan?
Polishing a Land Rover - NormanB
Hi Rob

No experience of this myself and I think you are taking on quite a project. I would have thought you will need to lacquer on completion of burnishing otherwise it will dull as it oxidises particularly in the UK climate.

Try it on an old panel half laquered/half not and leave it in the garden for a month ?!

Good luck

NormanB
I'll try.
Laquer as in a spray can of Laquer?

I remember an old Land Rover advert with a polished Landy.
Polishing a Land Rover - NormanB
"Laquer as in a spray can of Laquer?"

Rob

Afraid I will bow out there as I have no specific experience to draw upon - I was just talking in general terms.

Regards

NormanB
Polishing a Land Rover - Jonathan {p}
Are you asking if a delorean style pinky will look good?

Does it matter, if it doesn't just get the hammerite out and paint it again.
Polishing a Land Rover - Ian Cook
Oo, er - we need David W on this one. He's found bits of a Landie's anatomy that Rover haven't got names for.
;o)

Ian Cook
Polishing a Land Rover - M.M
David W\'s not the only one who\'s ever owned an old Land Rover you know!

By chance I was looking at an old one yesterday where large areas were down to bare alloy after bumps and scrapes. It had been like this for over two years and the finish was still quite bright. It \"looked\" like the first stage of factory painting might be a clear primer/coating.

Land Rover did do a polished vehicle for promotional purposes a couple of times, I remember seeing a late Series III around 1983 like this.

I\'d stick to Dulux and a roller like the rest of them.

MM
Polishing a Land Rover - Dwight Van Driver