Renault Scenic 1.5 Turbo Diesel - Renault Scenic Turbo Failure - Colin Wiggz

Mid April 2010 my Son in Law's Scenic had no power and was taken to a Renault Dealer who diagnosed a damaged and jammed Turbo. He was quoted £1350 to repair it.

II suggested we try to get a re-con one with a guarantee. We managed to get one for a delivered price of £332.53. My Son in Law had to pay the renault garage in the region of £300.00 for having stripped parts to obtain access to the turbo.

I I am an experienced outboard motor engineer and have worked in a garage on cars many years ago. The main points we were told to watch out for in fitting the turbo were:

1. Make sure there is a good oil supply to the turbo.

2 Refill with new oil of the approved type.

3 Stop the turbo from spinning to check oil supply is OK before allowing it to spin.

All these things were done correctly and the vehicle ran perfectly for over 3,500 miles.

By this time it needed a new cam belt fitted according to it's service schedule and this was done by a nearby garage.

Within a week of the new cam belt being fitted it started to use lots of oil so much so that it became illegal because of the amount of smoke.

We took it back to the garage who had changed the cambelt and they stated the turbo was the cause and charged a further £35 for checking it.

The breakdown couldn't have happened at a worse time for them with all sorts of other family problems occuring at the same time.

I feel reluvtant to return the turbo without having a turbo expert examine it on our behalf rather than rely on the diagnoses of the turbo supplier.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Colin.

Renault Scenic 1.5 Turbo Diesel - Renault Scenic Turbo Failure - Dutchie