Legal Protection. - Sam0409
Hi Guys,

Here are some questions which may sound silly as I am new to the claim area of insurance. So, please forgive me for my ignorance and help me with the following.

1. Does using the motoring legal protection through my insurer to recover uninsured losses such as hire costs also affect the NCD? In other words, the insurer didn't have to pay to any external party but had to provide service for recovering the uninsured losses from the 3rd party insurer. Will this be treated as a claim and affect the NCD?

2. If no claim is made to the insurer but a total loss car is replaced by a similar car on the policy (to get myself going in absence of a courtesy car!!) and the claim is pursued independently (or via a claim management company) with the 3rd party insurer, could there be any issue that the total loss car is not insured anymore? I know this is not an issue if you are claiming your insurer and they inturn recover from 3rd party insurer but not sure of there could be any pitfalls when handling directly with the 3rd party insurer.

Thanks,
Sam.

No replies yet so putting this one again.
Appreciate any replies.
Legal Protection. - martint123
(1) I'd have said NO - the legal cover is usually a separate policy with a separate company.
(2) If you aren't claiming off your own insurance then your car need not be a total loss. Normally it is only your own insurer that will write it off and pay out. You have much greater power if claiming from a 3rd party directly.
Your own old car will still be insured, but may not be covered if it is not in a roadworthy condition. If for some reason yoru old car is written off - then it would become the property of the insurer who paid out - insurance would then have to end.

Annoyingly, if your own insurer pays out and writes your car off, the policy is finished and no
refund for any unused priod is payable.
Thanks for your reply Martin.