car insurance NCD - barrykez
I have been driving for over 10 years consistently and was pretty much with the same insurance broker for about 7 years. As we had no need for 2 cars when we had our first child I sold my car and got my wife to put me on her insurance as a named driver. I have been a named driver on her policy for 3 and a half years without any claims whatsoever. When I changed jobs I needed a new car for work so bought a little run around. I stayed with the same insurance provider that I had been a named driver on but they said I had to start my no claims again from scratch as they didnt recognise the no claims as a named driver, which leads me to 2 questions....where has my no claims gone, and whats the point of having named driver insurance if you get sweet FA for it in the future??
car insurance NCD - motorprop
' and whats the point of having named driver insurance if you get sweet FA for it in the future?? '

Not only that, but if you crash or claim regardless of fault as a named driver, you still need to declare that at the next renewal ( whether seeking to insure in your own name or as a named driver ) , so the system only recognises ' negativity ' - a clean record is of no consequence - they only highlight the faults , which seems inherently unreasonable ???

I am fully insured when driving, but looking at it that way, you could see why some people elect to risk having no insurance
car insurance NCD - Manatee
Shop around, somebody will rate you reasonably for the risk you present. NC discounts a bit opaque anyway - they are a discount off a figure that gets tweaked up every year for those who renew without negotiation.

Your wife has accrued the NCD anyway presumably? Do you expect to have your cake and eat it?

Edited by Manatee on 09/08/2009 at 16:15

car insurance NCD - martint123
That is why people in that situation swap policyholder and named driver around every year or so.