Parking an automatic - Rudedog
Hopefully a quick question...

When parking an auto (or DSG in my case) do you;

a) Put the car in Park and then apply the handbrake.

b) Apply the handbrake and then put the car into Park.

or

c) It makes absolutely no difference which way you do it!
Parking an automatic - storme
i always put mine into park..then use the hand brake
Parking an automatic - daveyjp
I was always taught handbrake then out of gear, whatever the transmission. I'm also a DSG driver.
Parking an automatic - stunorthants26
I tend to put on the handbrake, then let it settle quickly before sticking it in Park.
If I dont do it that way, it tends to clonk when I take it out of Park. Been the same on every auto ive ever driven.
Parking an automatic - Bromptonaut
Same principle as a manual.

Stop, engage parking brake, gears to neutral and switch off accesories (wipers, a/c and fan, radio, lights) before engine. Only different bit is transmission to P rather than first gear as in a manual.

Edited by Bromptonaut on 24/10/2008 at 22:44

Parking an automatic - Vansboy
Select PARK, depress FOOTBRAKE simultaneouslyapply handbrake & turn off engine.

VB
Parking an automatic - J500ANT
When im in my Jetta (also DSG) its Park only if i'm at home, its level so I dont see it as a problem - or Park then Handbrake elsewhere.

When i'm in my smart its into reverse, engine off then handbrake - locking it in reverse is the smart equivalent of the steering lock.
Parking an automatic - Bill Payer
In seem to recall that it used to be quite important if the car was on a slope to put the handbrake on first and then put the autobox in park - otherwise if the autobox park pawl was loaded it could be difficult / impossible to get the car out of Park.

In everyday use in my Merc I never use the "hand" brake (foot operated in the Merc).
Parking an automatic - Marc
Foot brake to come to a halt
Into PARK
Handbrake on
Release foot brake

Edited by Marc on 24/10/2008 at 23:52