seat belt laws - steve paterson
I've got a legal problem - can anyone help ?
As I understand things, a bona fida mechanic conducting a road test doesn't have to wear a seat belt providing that the vehicle being tested is displaying trade plates. I haven't used trade plates for years, but as far as I know the conditions of issue and use haven't changed since I last used them. All they do is allow (in limited circumstances) an untaxed vehicle to be used on a public road. Nothing else, and there are penalties for abuse.
I work as a mechanic for a van and truck rental company, my employer doesn't have any trade plates as we don't need them. Last week during a road test I was stopped for not wearing a seat belt. I tried to explain but the PC who stopped me was interested in nothing more than his £30 ticket and told me that if I wanted to argue with him it would have to be in court. Now it's occurred to me that if I had been using trade plates, I might have been contravening the terms and conditions of use as the van I was testing was road legal with no reason for trade plates to be displayed. I'd have been using them for a reason other than the one they were issued for. Would it be worth going to court and arguing this point? Also my name has been misspelt on the penalty notice - Poterson instead of Paterson, does this invalidate the ticket? Or should I just stump up@
seat belt laws - The Watcher
As you weren't using trade plates, why are you contemplating arguing the point IF you did have them you may have contravened their use?

IMHO, you weren't wearing a seat belt so were served with a ticket. The fact your name was spelt incorrectly doesn't alter the fact it was you.

Too many people abdicate responsibility over matters like these and yet complain if a 'real' criminal gets off on a technicality.

Pay up!
seat belt laws - Dwight Van Driver
Steve