2001 (y reg) hdi engine died help needed - scfc_151
Today i started the car with no problems drove down the road and nipped into the shop, came back out and the car turns over but wont start. Theres no glow plug light comming on (i know that when the cars warm it usually doesnt, but its only gone half a mile).

Now to give you some history-

Since having the car, when ive come to start it from cold, sometimes the glow plug light doesnt come on when turning the ignition so will just turn over. When that happened id just try the ignition again and it would light up and start.

This makes me think that there may be some kind of communication problem between the ignition and starting?

The other things that have been mentioned when ive searched are the 'electronic ignition fault', crankshaft sensor and camshaft sensor. However im not a mechanic and am just trying to get as many ideas as possible to sort it.

I need help as the car is stuck at the side of the road in not a very nice area.

Thanks for any advice.

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 10/03/2008 at 13:37

hdi engine died help needed - Screwloose

Year? Bosch or Siemens system? Has it had a new fuelling relay.
hdi engine died help needed - scfc_151
sorry-

its a 2001 (y reg) with 180,000 and a bosch pump. No fueling relay since i owned it

{some of which now added}

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 10/03/2008 at 13:37

When you turned the ignition on; did the tank-pump prime for around 10 seconds?
no i dont think so not that i noticed if it did.

When you go back; reach in through the broken window and turn the ignition on. You should be able to feel the filter swell up as the tank-pump pressurizes it - be quick.

If it doesn't; find the long [brown?] relay mounted on the ECU box [push the inertia switch down while you're there] and unclip and slide the red release bar sideways to remove the 15-pin plug.

Check the plug for corrosion or burning round the terminals - if poss; take a new relay with you.