01 1.3 auto significance of faulty exhaust sensor - arogers222
Hi folks,

I would be grateful for some advice please on a second hand car I am planning to buy.

Car is a 2001 Nissan Micra SE+ Auto 1348cc

Car is advertised as:
"There is an exhaust sensor warning light illuminated on the dashboard. This is due to a faulty sensor - there is no problem with the exhaust or emissions as confirmed by the recent MOT."

I understand from the seller that the "Exhaust sensor warning light has been illuminated since approx 1 year and that the Nissan dealer confirmed that it was due to a faulty exhaust sensor which monitors the quality of the exhaust emissions. As emissions is tested as part of the MOT (which it passed without problem) in Nov 07 this sensor is largely redundant / irrelevant and has no bearing on how the car runs. Nissan dealer has quoted £600 to repair"

1. I am not a techie so would appreciate if someone could confirm that "this sensor is largely redundant / irrelevant and has no bearing on how the car runs."

2. Is it safe / recommended / legal to drive the car with a faulty sensor? What are the possible risks of do so?

Don't wish to buy the car and then realise that I will have to fork out £600.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Cheers,
Andy

Edited by Pugugly {P} on 02/02/2008 at 09:46

01 1.3 auto significance of faulty exhaust sensor - Pugugly {P}
Ask for 600 off !
01 1.3 auto significance of faulty exhaust sensor - Screwloose
Andy

Absolute and utter hogwash.

The light in question can only be the "engine management fault" light [there will be "affect emissions" in it's handbook description] and even Renault/Nissan can't want £600 to replace the only sensor in the exhaust, which is a simple oxygen sensor.