retro fit cruise control - Ian71
I am considering replacing my Vectra with an Astra, but I will miss cruise control. I know the Elite version comes with cruise control as standard, but I am not keen on having leather seats. I am happy to have a lesser model, but the depreciation from new on an Astra is huge so I don't want to buy a new model just to get this feature fitted; I am looking at something around a year old. I am also not that keen on the aftermarket cruise control systems - no real reason except I would like to have the controls not look like an after thought.

Is it possible to retrofit (ie change the indicator stalk etc..) cruise control to this model of Astra? I have seen forums describe how to do this with the previous version, but not the current model.

Plus, I am not that technically inclined, so would I be able to go and ask my local vauxhall dealer to fit it for me?

Thank you in advance for any help!

Edited by Pugugly on 18/08/2008 at 19:01

Retro fit Cruise Control - Ruperts Trooper
Astra's since 2001 model year have been easy to retro-fit cruise control as they have electronic throttle-by-wire.

All you need is the cruise stalk and possibly a clutch switch - it will need "programming" on Tech 2 at a Vauxhall dealer, some of whom deny all knowledge of the procedure.
Retro fit Cruise Control - topbloke
i can confirm the above post, it is do-able,not done it myself but deffinataly do-able
Retro fit Cruise Control - Dynamic Dave
Some info over on Astra Owners Club.

www.astraownersclub.com/vb/showthread.php?t=128264

No mention if you're replacing with petrol or diesel. Aparantly the clutch switch is already fitted to the diesel, but possibly not the petrol engined Astras. Part No's required are in this thread.

www.astraownersclub.com/vb/showthread.php?t=97092

A search on there will throw up some more discussions.
Retro fit Cruise Control - Mike TT
Hi,

I have a 2008 Design AUTOMATIC - any advice on retro fitting cruise control, please?