1993 2.0E - Unusual problem, loosing power. - TimOrridge
HI all

Strange one this, driving along yeaterday at 40 in 5th and suddenly lost power. Pressing go go pedal and nothing just winding down to idle. When stopped pressing accel produced no mor ethe 500 revs even doen to floor. Checked cable and fine, ticked over fine and no unsusal noises. Limped on to side street at idle and sudenly picked up again. Did same thing 1 mile down road and picked up again soon after. Car has been driveing superb up to yesterday.

My first thing to think of was the cat as it has started rattling really bad lately and could have got blocked up intermittintly or some thing electrical (plugs leads?)

or the fuel (qtr tank) that was in tank was dodgy. I put 30 quid of fresh fuel in and it seems ok now after a 100 mile round trip today, however it still has a slight bit of hesitation espically under load, but iss still more than driveable.

Im no mechanic so any ideas to what that was would be great

Car has 142000 miles on clock

Ta

Edited by Webmaster on 01/12/2007 at 19:28

1993 2.0E - Unusual problem, loosing power. - Screwloose
Tim

So there's a lump of the brick rolling around loose in the cat housing and you're looking for a reason for loss of power....?

QED mean anything to you?
Screwloose,

This post will work better if i ask the questions and you provide the answers. BTW QED means nothing to me. I regard you as an expert so will treat you like one.

Right, I mentioned Cat as a possible suggestion as it was rattling recently, The other suggestion was the fuel that was in the tank at the time.

At present the car when cold holds back slightly when accelatating, its not like a misifire. It picks up after about 2-2500 rpm. The problem dissapears all together after the temp needle gets over about 60C. After 5 mins of driving the car performs as expected, fine.

Fuel consumption hovers around 25-30mpg so I have no concerns there