Car servicing - people's perceptions? - Pat L
" Ok as i have only been driving a year and a half, i am going to ask this stupid question, what exactly is a car service, what do they do that isn't done in an MOT? "

I came across this on a teachers' forum (as a teacher myself I'm a bit ashamed of the level of ignorance!), and it makes you wonder how many cars simply get MOT'd and not actually serviced. Scary.

Edited slightly to make it clear that the first paragraph was a quote !

Edited by Pugugly {P} on 27/10/2007 at 14:36

Car servicing - people's perceptions? - bell boy
a service is where a technician will actually kick your tyres, whilst bob the mot man would just look at them.

Edited by bell boy on 27/10/2007 at 14:12

Car servicing - people's perceptions? - steveo3002
mot is a check to make sure all the saftey related items like tyres, brakes , lights , seats belts and so on are up to standard....they only checkthings and wont fix or replace things on the test (some garages will fix any failures for extra cost)

the service will be replacing items like oil, filters, spark plugs so that hopefully the engine lasts the life of the car, they should alsp report back on tyre and brake wear
Thanks, Steve. I er do actually know what a service is :-)
Car servicing - people's perceptions? - Armitage Shanks {p}
Well your question " What exactly is a car service?" implied that you didn't know - now somebody has told you and been given earcahe for his trouble!
Car servicing - people's perceptions? - Armitage Shanks {p}
Sorreeeeeeeee. It was the author of the quote who didn't know - not Pat l - Grovel grovel
Thanks, PU. I really can't believe that two people have misread my original post!
No apology needed, AS.
Car servicing - people's perceptions? - JamesH
It is shocking. I dread to think what the state of his/her oil is.