Petrol and Mileage - Mr Mark
Can the brand of petrol I use affect the mileage I get out of my car?

I always used to use the same brand of petrol and thought nothing more about it until three fills ago I switched to a different brand and seem to be getting better performance and considerably more MPG from my car. Can this be possible? Someone once told me all petrol is the same as it comes from the same refineries?

Thanks.
Petrol and Mileage - Dizzy {P}
This is pretty much the same question asked in the posting entitled "Shell Optimax" a few topics ago. I think the answer (or otherwise!) may be found there.
Petrol and Mileage - chris p crisps ©
i have been driving company cars diesel and petrol for about 30 years covering some 30 -40000 miles per year,loging my fuel consumption there is definately a difference from make to make of fuel both diesel and petrol regarding fuel consumption.buying cheap supermarket fuel is abit hit and miss sometimes i get better consumption doing the same journey filling up at the same supermarket,it seems supermarkets buy the cheapest for best profit margins.cheapest is not always the most economic.however a lot of factors determine fuel consumption ie tyre make,tyre inflation, weather, trafic congestion and a whole lot more so it is not easy to determine which fuel make is best.

chris
Petrol and Mileage - jud
Chris
what brands have you found the best for petrol i use asda and have no problems but am willing to try another brand if it will improve mpg
jud
i use to use asda diesel and found fuel consumption was prety poor so i tend to stay clear of asda, i have a volvo v40 petrol now and find i get better consumption using total or shell unleaded even if you take into acount any discount vouchers or other loyalty gimmicks from supermarkets i find it more economical.i only go into supermarkets if i have no other choice, as i said before its pot luck from delivery to delivery what fuel consumption you end up with from these supermarkets.