rubbing noise when turning left - dylan
2003 Daihatsu Charade. This started immediately after the car was left at an airport for a week, a couple of months ago, and has been there continuously every since. There is a metallic-ish rubbing/scraping sound when turning the steering wheel to the left. It only takes a small turn of the wheel to trigger it (a few degrees), but the noise is continuous while the wheel is turned. Occurs at all speeds.

I'm not too good at pinpointing the source of noises, but it appears to be coming from the passenger side rear. That could be completely wrong though - sometimes I think it's coming from the front of the car, in the centre.

Any suggestions for what it might be? Car has been through the MOT since the noise started, if that helps rule out some possibilities.
rubbing noise when turning left - bell boy
a mouse living behind the wheelarch liner?
could bee anyting even a dry cv joint
an mot isnt a bee all and find all although many people tink it is
could i respectfully suggest a mechanic has a look who isnt deaft
rubbing noise when turning left - Rob E
Hi Dylan,

I own a 2004 04 Charade and know exactly the sound you are referring to. One (or both) driveshafts will probably need replacing. This was a known problem on early Charades. I bought mine at 18 months old and noticed the noise soon after. Both driveshafts were replaced under warranty. Since yours is 03 I assume your warranty is up, but you must push Daihatsu to make a goodwill gesture or - ideally - pay the full price. It's a manufacturing fault, and completely unacceptable to have to replace such a part at such a young age. Daihatsus are very tough cars and have a good reliability reputation, which I'm sure they're keen to uphold. They're trying to make more of a footprint in the Uk so should be keeping their customers happy.