Treating your car well - fueling - OldSkoOL
I was wondering what peoples oppinions are on fueling up your car. I have limited knowledge but i see fueling your car with good fuel as beneficial in lots of way. I admit i have limited knowledge but surely putting good fuel in will help prevent long term damage or wear and tear on the mechanics; especially in diesels. Diesels as it seems are prone to clogged EGR valves, worn out turbos, cat problems etc. The soot produced as part of the combustion process surely adds to the problems with the mechanics becoming blocked and the lubricants of the oil becoming less effective because of the soot in the oil.

Therefore since buying my new cars this years both toyotas as i'm a jap fan i now own a t180 and a rav4 xtr and they are both fueled with shell and nothing else. My t180 i'm looking after the most since the shell garage right by my work now has V-Power diesel which is suppose to contain cleaning agents for extra lubricity and soot breakdown. Whilst i maybe naive by believing in this i'm willing to pay the extra. On balance i get the same / similar miles to a tank compared to shell extra diesel and its extra cost is barely even noticeable costing no more than a beer each fill up. If it really does work its worth it.

You could say i'm a bit cautious now i own diesel cars for the first time because i do hear the horror stories. But along with fueling it well i also think its a good idea to start the car as soon as you get in allowing it to idle for 10secs whilst you put your seat belt on. Also i idle the car for about a minute after my a-road / dual carriageway commute to let to turbo oil drain / or cool down before switch off - also never driving hard or revving too much until warm. I'm hoping all these things will help in the long run. But i can't help but revisit the fueling issue; surely its very important to feed your car decent fuel, i suppose its a bit like feeding yourself.