Moving Swiftly up....looking for an SUV - Alijazz
Hello everyone,

My mid-life crisis is obviously not yet over. Hooray! I have had a wonderful year with my pretty Suzuki Swift (thanks to all who recommended - you've got great taste). But... having driven something small and very, very nippy for a while, I now feel an overwhelming urge to drive something gigantic, huge, mega, big, gigantic and anti-social. However, my road-domination must be achieved on a very tight budget. Can you make any suggestions?

I could probably afford a new cheap SUV or a second-hand posh one. I tend to prefer new because I am always afraid of people dumping lemons in forecourts. I am a bit scaredy cat. So far I've considered:

KIA Sportage
KIA Sorrento (what is this car? What is the diff between that and the Sportage? Why does Honest John like it so much? It looks nice to me? Is it ok?)
Suzuki Gran Vitara

or older

RAV4s (do these look boring? Or haven't I learned how to appreciate SUVs yet? I am a novice.)
the CR-thingie - that new Honda one
Landrover Freelander (my husband wants this but the one I saw looks like a housebrick)

Calling all SUV owners and drivers. What should I do? What can I afford? What do you drive? How do you like it?

I have about £15k but could probably stretch a bit for something very nice. The biggest problem will be finding a garage to sell a car to me. The KIA garage said it had no cars - it could get one but from 100 miles away. The Suzuki garage had nothing to test drive because the boss had gone on holiday in it. Have they no cars or do they just not want to sell them?

All opinions very gratefully received.

Alijazz

PS I like the look of the Sorrento. Would be particularly interested to hear about these, especially diesels.
Moving Swiftly up....looking for an SUV - Avant
Hi Ali - how nice to hear from you again!