Insurance Query - Two People - Adam {P}
Morning all,

Some advice please. My Dad is off in Spain on his bike this week and so, for the next month I'm insured on his car which I plan on doing my trip to London in at the weekend. I am a named driver on his policy.

My uncle's coming along too and has suggested sharing the driving so that it's not as hectic seeing as we'd be going there and back in the same day. This, on the face of it seems like a good idea. However, he's just found out that his company insurance won't cover him on Dad's car.

He's seen (and has been told too) that you can insure any car yourself for the day - Norwich Union being one of these insurers - so that he could insure himself on Dad's car for the day but I'm sure i've seen it here that that would be illegal - namely because the same car has two policies out on it. I told him this but then he said something about insuring the person not the car.

a) What is he on about?
b) Is what I'm on about legal?
c) Any ways around it if the answer to b) is "No"?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Adam
Insurance Query - Two People - mike hannon
Why not ask your dad's company what it would cost to name your uncle temporarily on the existing policy?
Insurance Query - Two People - DP
Why not ask your dad's company what it would cost to
name your uncle temporarily on the existing policy?

This is what I did when the mother-in-law needed to borrow the car last year. They couldn't add her just for the day, but adding her as a named driver for the remaining four months of the policy was something daft like £20.

Job done.

Cheers
DP
Insurance Query - Two People - maclean
Hi - to insure the car via Norwich Union's dayinsure.com scheme as you suggest is quite legal and very cheap at about £10.00 per day.What would be illegal is to insure the car twice with the intention of claiming under both policies!

Make sure you read the small print on dayinsure about the excess and age limits etc and enjoy your trip!