Auction prices ? too high - Unusual Autos
I am a trader in Surrey and have noticed a trend lately for auction prices on cars and vans are on the increase
Just come back from a sale today at a certain site in wales and the Ex-AA VW transporters were making retail money and it seemed three or four dealers were buying them all up at top money! A grand to £1500 more than two weeks ago!
The same at other sites with Cars making close to retail and all the traders ive talked too saying how quite it is and how the good weather has seen a huge drop off in sales compared to last year.
The auction companies are being forced by the leasing companies to get better prices ,but both are benefit in the long run
What is going on out there?Are they being too gready and running the prices up because at more than one venue ,you could see no one was bidding until the last few bids and that defeats the object of an auction surely !
Anyone agree!!!
Auction prices ? too high - Vin {P}
It appears to me that you're saying that the vehicles ARE selling, but for too much.

It also appears to me as an auction amateur (but who has been to plenty) that no-one can force anyone to pay too much for a vehicle at auction. Either you want to bid, or you don't. Thus there must be demand at the higher price.

Your comment "you could see no one was bidding until the last few bids " shows that someone was prepared to pay what was being asked. They weren't being forced to bid....

Also (though I can't see it applying to vehicle transporters) people being on holiday must bring in private punters who are more prepared to bid higher, if only because they are still getting a bargain at a price a dealer cannot pay.

V
Auction prices ? too high - Armitage Shanks {p}
Unusual Autos, how does this work?

The auction companies are being forced by the leasing companies to get better prices ,but both are benefit in the long run.