05 fiesta abs light - cliff
hi, the abs light comes on occasionally, not under any specific conditions, just when it feels like it, it may stay on for a couple of mins or an hour.
the local dealer put it on his diagnostic equipment and it's booked in.
he said he could be just a dirty sensor, dust etc.
i need the car not to show any lights for a drive tomorrow (i'm a driving instructor) is there anything i can do in the short term, either mechanically or is it possible to get behind the dash and pull the bulb?
the pads and disks were changed about 6 weeks ago but the problem has only just started.
any advice today would be greatly appreciated.
thanx
right, searching the net reveals a temporary work-round on vauxhalls, it involves wiring the abs bulb in the engine management bulb, sounds simple enough.
i've worked out how the dash comes apart, has anyone else done this?
05 fiesta abs light - Screwloose
cliff

So you're quite Ok with knowingly taking out a learner in a car that has defective brakes and may thus have no functional anti-skid facilities at all?

That tells me all I need to know about you, pal.
ok, fair point, but i was told by more than one ford mechanic that the braking won't be affected in the slightest, i'm not stupid.

if you can't come up with something constructive then say nothing.
05 fiesta abs light - Adam {P}
>>So you're quite Ok with knowingly taking out a learner in a car that has defective brakes and may thus have no functional anti-skid facilities at all?<<

What did people do before 2003 then? Surely the car will be just like my (supposedly) top spec but "old" (1999) Focus without ABS?

Or does the ABS light indicate some other braking problem? If so, then yes I agree.
05 fiesta abs light - Screwloose
Taken from a previous answer.....

An ABS braking system is not a standard system with some additional ABS grafted-on. It is designed and specified from the ground up as an ABS-dependant separate entity.