Audi 80 lumpy idling - Steve Bailey
My 1986 Audi 80 1.6 petrol (Pierburg 2E2 carburettor with automatic choke)is running well when the engine is under load (i.e. it goes well when you have your foot on the accelerator), and runs well when it is cold (the automatic choke keeps the revs high).

When the engine has warmed up, it still runs well under load, but when it is idling it is very lumpy and occasionally stalls. The lumpiness is erratic, not a misfire on the same cylinder.

My theory is that the idle jet has some muck in it, as when it is cold, or the engine is under load, it ses the main jet.

A few points to note:
I ran out of petrol a couple of weeks ago.
I changed the disposable in line fuel filter.
The timing is correct.
The rotor arm and distribtor cap are new.

What shall I do? Clean the idle jet with something?

Any ideas gratefully received.

Steve
Re: Audi 80 lumpy idling - Pat
Steve,

I'm by no means a technical expert, unlike many on this site, though the symptoms appear similar to those I experienced many years ago with a 1980 VW Jetta with manual choke. It suddenly started stalling when coming to a stop at traffic lights, etc.

I took it to an independent VW garage where they cleaned the idle jet by blowing compressed air through it. A small sliver of wood came out! Must have been in the fuel!

Hope you get the problem sorted.

Pat
Re: Audi 80 lumpy idling - Marcus
You need to check the vacuum pipe which connects the brake servo to the inlet manifold, this can sometimes perish and cause an airleak into the manifold, I had exactly this problem on my sister-in law's Audi 80 automatic a couple of years ago and also on a VW jetta which has the same engine.

Let us know if you solve it !
Re: Audi 80 lumpy idling - Adam Going (Tune-Up Ltd)
Steve,