1994 1.4 Golf Coolant Issues - jimothy
Hi

I have a problem (maybe). I thought it must be about time to change the coolant on my golf - not sure when/if it was last done.

Anyhow, so I drained it all out and flushed out the radiator. I haven't flushed the engine as apparently I'd need to remove the thermostat which as a novice I didn't fancy doing. Reconnected all hoses and started to refil. For some reason, despite about 6 litres coolant coming out when I emptied it, I can only get 2 litres back in?! I assumed an airlock and have run the engine up to operating temperature with the expansion cap off (the radiator started steaming and the cooling fan kicked in)but hasn't seemed to clear it?

What do I do? I need to get more coolant in but I can't. How do I know the thermostat is definately working?

Any advice much appreciated/

Jimothy
1994 1.4 Golf Coolant Issues - Dynamic Dave
How do I know the thermostat is definately working?

If it's working (as in opening when hot), then the pipe leading back to the top of the radiator should be warm.
1994 1.4 Golf Coolant Issues - jc
Possible airlock in the heater;put heater to full hot;top up the system and put the filler cap on;start the engine and let it warm up for several minutes;then take the engine upto about 4000 rpm for about two minutes,alternatively slacken the clip on the top heater hose near the heater when the system is under pressure;you don't want the hose coming off;be careful of the hot water-it can spray a long way.You need to run the engine fast so that the pump puts sufficient depression on the heater matrix to suck out the air-it won't do it at idle.
OK - thanks for the tips.

All the pipes to / from radiator get hot so I guess the thermostat is ok. I ran the engine with heater on full wack and at 4000rpm for a few minutes - and got very hot! No problems there. The engine still gets to about 105C at idle before cooling fan cuts in - but it was doing that before I changed the coolant.